Safe Travels – Warm Welcomes

Safe Travels

Day 1

I made it to Haiti okay. During this whole trip and getting ready, people kept asking me if I was nervous or scared or anything and honestly I wasn’t. As the plane started to land my mind started to race and thoughts just exploding “What the hell am I doing?”. Once I got off the plane all of that went away and I was all good again. I got through security, one of the things I liked, and they did the same thing when I was in the Caymen Islands, as soon as you got off the plane there was music playing… live music.

I got all my suitcases and one of them the supports for it were shredded but that’s okay it just had books and paper which were not harmed. I grabbed my 3 bags totaling around 120 pounds and scurried out to the court yard which was filled with people a little overwhelming. I was promptly greeted by a taxi driver but Val (one of the workers at the orphanage) happened to show up.

We drove through the city and the culture, even the just atmosphere was like being in a movie, it’s still so surreal to me.

IMG_9585

I got to the orphanage and the kids were at school so it was really quiet. There was a nice sign saying welcome to Haiti Justin. Emily and I hung around for a bit I sorted out all the stuff that was donated and just relaxed, let everything soak in.

IMG_9587

Val was trying to get a SIM card to work in the iphone I got Emily but he didn’t cut it right the first time so he went out to the store to try and get it trimmed.  No luck as of today but tomorrow he’s going to try again. When he came back he picked up Christine (one of the children) from school she ran straight to me and gave me a kiss on the cheek (customary in Haiti).

Emily and I talked some more about nothing really, and then the kids finally showed up school and I was greeted by a hand shake by all the boys and a kiss on the cheek by Neica (Jenny).  The kids were surprisingly open and playful it was a nice welcome. Emily and I sat around joking with the kids for a bit. I finally decided to hit the sac for some rest around 3:30/4:00. I woke up and it was around 5:30 and was dark out I was groggy and could have sworn it was like 9 at night. I got myself out of bed and had some food, rice and beans, there as some sauce to with fish; I didn’t like the taste so I passed on that. I played some soccer/ kick ball with the boys and Christine and then went back to take another nap, I was still super drained. I’m pretty sure I only napped for like 30 minute.

My next nap was not too bad at one point Christine came in and I could feel her tracing my tattoo’s on my back with her finger; it was too hot to wear a shirt in bed… funny thing was I got cold at one point. Christine asked “es tu dormire?” (are you sleeping). I replied Oui (yes) and she left.

Christine came back about an hour or so later flicked on the lights and was standing in the door way smiling asking again “es tu dormir? This time I couldn’t stay no she was too cute so I pulled my butt out of bed. Christine stretched out her arm after I got up and said “Je veux designier” (I want to colour) because she saw one of the colouring books that was on my suitcase. We went through the books and found some to colour, I had to find Em because all the markers and crayons I guess were broken, we found some though.  Emily, Christine and I were colouring for a bit and eventually the boys showed up and started colouring themselves.  Don brought over a book where we started playing a drawing game and he had me pretty much beat until the end and then I think I got lucky… Didn’t matter though, he wrote his initials in my squares anyway so I guess he won haha.

Later I sat outside the house where Val was playing music and the kids were dancing and playing around in the yard. I checked my Facebook for a quick update and let people know I was okay. At this point Val took off somewhere and the kids were bugging me to play some Justin Beiber, so I put it on.

*Side note note* I guess when Emily told the Kids Justin from Canada is coming they thought it was Justin Beiber… sorry to disappoint, but a few of them still call be Justin Beiber for the fun of it.

Val came back and we went for a walk which we weren’t supposed to go on because it was dark out… I guess I won’t be doing that again sorry Emily.

I tried a Hatian Beer Prestige it was actually pretty good.

IMG_9588

I played around with the kids a little more and then it was time for them to go to bed and that’s pretty much where I’m left now Emily and I are just hanging out with Val. I just finished some left-overs that were from dinner, rice and beans. Posting my blog and going to bed.

About Justinn

I'm a graduate of many fields but my passion is traveling & helping others. I've come to realize that with my traveling I can teach, guide and learn. I opened this blog originally to help you live through my experiences in Haiti which changed my life. I now pass on my lessons of life and new discoveries for the world to see. If I can change even one person's life it's all worth it.

Leave a Comment please (^_^)